The Haunting of 1989

by mish525

Since January I have been haunted.  Haunted by old friends and hallowed halls.  Haunted by ex-boyfriends and bad hair.  Haunted by old chemistry and French tests.  Haunted by Duran Duran, The Clash and “House” music.  Haunted by Medusa’s, The Alley, and McGreevey’s.  Haunted by the Metra express train at 6:02am, carpools, basketball games, and SAT scores.  Haunted by John Hughes films, the brat pack, VHS tapes, and tape cassettes.  Yes, I am being stalked, emailed, snail mailed and telephoned.  

It is my 25th High School Reunion.  Class of 1989!

The last one I attended was my 10 year,  I went with trepidation.  Will I see old friends or frenemies?  Will I look good or will they look better?  How many doctors?  How many lawyers?  I went.  I had a blast.  So many old friends, so many rehashed times.

I missed the 20th…my bachelorette.  A girl has to get her “whoop” on!

I am missing the 25th.  It just so happens to be the same evening as GiGi’s Playhouse Gala.  Gigi’s is a place for Down Syndrome achievement.  It has brought my family joy and hope.  We have made new friends and new memories.  We have become the class of present.  Everyday is a new day of development, a new day of hope, a new day of pure joy since Ryan has chosen us as his family.  

Yes, it would be fun to celebrate the “old days.”  Sip a beer or two and break bread with some old friends.

I choose class of present. Weekly physical therapy, occupational therapy, developmental therapy, speech therapy.  Acid reflux, low tone, ear tubes, clogged tear ducts. Smiles, laughter, hugs and kisses.  Hope, joy, love.  Man, a lot has changed since 1989!

