Slice of Heaven

by mish525

I sit here staring at my computer screen racking my brain for a slice.  Most of you know I am not referring to a slice of pizza or a slice of pie, although both would be very nice right about now.  Maybe that’s what I need.  Some sugar to jump start my brain into a slicing mode.

Intermission: Going in for a chocolate chip cookie.

Ah, yes, that is the ticket.  So sweet and gooey.  I can feel the sugar surge through my veins and into my cerebral cortex.  I know the slice is coming, coming, coming…almost there…nothing.  OK, so maybe the cookie isn’t enough.

Intermission:  Going in for a Coca Cola.

Nothing says “jolt your brain” like an ice cold Coke.  Yeah, that is it!  Now here comes the caffeine racing to my gray matter.  Woohoo!  Come on inspiration!  Give me something, anything!  Nothing.

Intermission: Watch my husband play with the kids.

Oh what a great man he is!  He is my husband, my best friend, my soldier forging along with me through our crazy life.  Diapers, dinner, baths, bottles, doctors, therapy, and  Mickey Mouse.  He knows the entire Chicago Bears first string, the Blackhawks first line, the Cubs starting line-up (I’ll forgive him this one) and every Real Housewife from New Jersey to Beverly Hills.

What did I do to deserve this man?  My mighty mouse of a dad who always saves the day?! 

Intermission: Go in for a kiss.

Yes!  I’ve got it.  My slice of heaven.